OPTIMUM NUTRITION GOLD 100% WHEY PROTEIN REVIEW

  • Product:  Optimum Nutrition Gold 100% Whey Protein     100% Whey
  • Cheapest Place to Buy:  Amazon.com
  • Overall Rating:    4 1/4 Star Rating on Amazon
  • Type: Powder
  • Protein Source:  Whey Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate, Whey Peptides
  • Serving Size: 1 rounded scoop
  • Servings Included:  74
  • Price:  $ 57.99 (5 lbs)
  • Size of Container: 5 pounds (Comes in a variety of sizes depending on your needs)
  • Money Back Guarantee:  No

Optimum Nutrition Gold 100% Whey, Product Overview

Do you need help getting that extra protein in before your workout? I’m going to discuss a highly recommended pre-workout protein supplement that has over 20 unique flavors, great tasting, great reviews and provides intense energy for that maximum support your body needs. Deciding on a protein supplement can be difficult because there are so many to chose from. ON (Optimum Nutrition Gold), found at eBay, is low in fat, carbs, and sugar but very high in PROTEIN. It’s also been around for 10 years providing award-winning quality.

You can eat a 6 oz New York Strip steak with about 50 grams of protein in it but the consequences is that it has almost 300 calories and 9 grams of fat or Steak = 300 Calories, 9 grams fat, 50 grams protein2 servings of Whey protein with 240 calories, 2 grams of fat, and 48 grams of protein. Either way you get your protein, but steak comes with a price of $10-$15/each if you have to eat it every day. Optimum Nutrition Gold is an excellent replacement and cost $2.12 per serving!

 


About the Product

  • The world’s #1 Selling Whey Protein
  • 24g of premium whey protein but low in sugars and fat
  • High protein to support muscle growth & maintenance
  • 5.5 Grams of Naturally Occurring BCAAs
  • 4 Grams of Naturally Occurring Glutamine and Glutamic Acid
  • Instantized to Mix Easily Using Just a Glass and Spoon
  • Over 20 Different Flavors to Choose From

 

ON 100% Whey Gold Standard                Nutrition Facts for Whey Protein


100% WHEY                     Whey

WHEY comes from milk during the process of making cheese. It contains minimal lactose and is easy to digest and absorb, getting into your bloodstream and muscles very quickly. WHEY is known to help support health and wellness while providing a complete source of naturally found essential and non-essential amino acids in dairy foods. It is one of the most popular sports nutrition products because of its effectiveness in managing weight loss, muscle tone, and repairing of the muscle tissue.

ON Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Ingredients


Supports Faster Recovery From Exercise

WHEY contains important elements called branched-chain amino acids (BCAAs), that helps rebuild and repair muscular tissue that has been damaged from exercise. BCAAs are the building blocks of protein that essentially prevent muscle tissue from being broken down. It helps stimulate the creation of new muscle tissue. This helps increase muscle endurance and energy making exercise get easier on your body each time you workout.

Thanks for ON Whey - Fitness is Getting Easier


Reviews from what people are saying

February 7, 2018

Flavor: Double Rich Chocolate|Size: 5 Pound|Verified Purchase
It tastes good and doesn’t upset my stomach like other powders. Not too sweet and light flavor. It mixes really well. Almost instantly in a blender bottle. I can tell it’s a superior product. You get 72 servings (one scoop) with this. Seems like it will last a while. I’ll have to wait and see if I get results but so far it’s worth the money. Also to those complaining their protein is half full, the product is sold by weight not by volume. Says it right on the tub.
February 1, 2018
For me, by far, the best protein shake I have tested in my life. Let me tell you I have been working out for about 10 years now, previously only at the gym, now gym + CrossFit and this product has given me the strength I need to keep my muscles supporting the big stress. Amazing product and let me tell you that the flavor is super good. Actually, this is my best food of the day compared with all the fish and veggies I eat during the day 😉


How To Drink Gold Standard Whey Protein?

1 serving/scoop of Gold Standard Whey Protein can be mixed in a blender with about 8 ounces of water for 30 seconds. For added vitamins and flavor you can add fresh strawberries, blueberries, flax seed oil or peanut butter.

Hamilton Beach Blender with Single Serve Travel Jar

** If you don’t have a blender, no worries. Amazon also provides a neat little shaker that can be bundled together with your order. Add 1 scoop and 6-8 ounces of water, screw on the lid and shake for about 30 seconds. I wouldn’t suggest adding fresh fruit when using a shaker (blender bottle), because it will not blend as it needs to.
Blender Bottle

 


When To Drink ON Whey Protein

ON Whey Protein absorbs so fast that it is best to drink first thing in the morning and/or 30 minutes before or immediately after your workout.

 


21 Flavors

Do you like variety? There are 21 flavors to choose from when purchasing this Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein supplement. I’ve listed them below. Having trouble deciding on which one? I’ve also listed some of the reviews about what people are saying about this product and it’s flavors.

Comes in a variety of flavors

Strawberry Banana

  Vanilla Ice Cream

    Banana Cream

    Birthday Cake

     Cake Donuts

 Cookies & Cream

Delicious Strawberry

Double Rich Chocolate

Extreme Milk Chocolate

French Vanilla Creme

Mocha Cappuccino

Rocky Road

Chocolate Malt

Chocolate Mint

Chocolate Peanut Butter

Key Lime Pie

Salted Caramel

Cake Batter

Chocolate Coconut

Coffee

White Chocolate


More Reviews

March 25, 2018
This review is for the 5 pound Extreme Milk Chocolate.
I see a lot of negative reviews talking about them changing the formula. Most of them are about a year old but they’re the top reviews so I thought I’d address them. I’ve only been using this product for a few months but here’s what I’ve noticed. First off, I enjoy the taste. Enough that I bought a second 5 pound container after finishing the first; no complaints with the second container either. Secondly, all the complaints seem to mention the addition of sucralose among other things like salt and acesulfame. I can’t speak for how it was made before but after looking at many different protein powder ingredient lists I saw salt, acesulfame, and sucralose at the end of all of them. Maybe this wasn’t the case over a year ago but it seems to be the norm now. If anyone can recommend a protein powder without these ingredients I’d be happy to try it. Regardless, I really like this protein powder and I would be likely to recommend it to a friend. As a side note, I would recommend sticking to more “normal” flavors in general when it comes to protein powders if you’re worried about taste. In other words, don’t order a powder flavored “birthday cake” and expect it to not taste artificial. I’ll be trying a few other protein powders after I finish my current tub just so I have more to compare to but I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up coming back to this one.
May 8, 2017
Each scoop contains just 120 calories and 24 grams of protein. I drink at least one, and sometimes two, glasses of this protein shake. I’ve had great luck increasing the amount of muscle in my body between walking and consuming this protein shake, plus trying to watch out regarding other items I eat. My nutritionist is really pleased with my progress because I am obese, and even though I still indulge in carbs, because I walk and drink this protein shake daily I am seeing good results.
March 25, 2018
I am an engineer and have a bad habit of researching a product for months and months before purchasing. I did that with protein powders and after comparing 17 different ones, I decided to use Optimum Nutrition Gold. Based on my research and all the different brands I looked at, this one had the lowest sugar content at the highest protein content per scoop. This was important for me. I have been using this brand since 2016 and I am happy with the results. I was able to lose 25 lbs of fat in 9 months by using Optimum Nutrition Gold with diet and exercise that was monitored by my family doctor.

 

Obviously everyone needs to do their own research and evaluation, but I can honestly say I have no problems with this and highly recommend it.


Tired Of Drinking Your Protein?   Try These new ideas!

If you are tired of drinking your protein and need something new, there are other alternatives. You can mix a scoop of ON Whey Protein in a serving of oatmeal or yogurt. You can also bake with it by adding it to your favorite muffins, brownies or cake. There’s even a protein fudge that you would absolutely love! Follow this link for many new and great tasting alternatives when trying to get your protein in for the day; http://www.sparkpeople.com/blog/blog.asp?post=15_new_ways_to_use_protein_powder.

 

All Fat Burners for 35% OFF at BPI Sports! FREE Shipping on Orders $49 and Up! Promo Code: LOSEIT


 

Authors Note

I hope you found this product review helpful and easy to understand.  I hope you enjoy this protein supplement as so many others have.  Thanks for stopping by.  Please leave me any comments, suggestions, or questions in the reply box below.

Best of Luck,

Devara

 

Shop at eBay for a GREAT  deal by CLICKING HERE!

 

Please visit and SUBSCRIBE to my YouTube Channel below:

 

Devara

I live in North Carolina and I recently graduated in May 2017, from Davidson County Community College with a degree in Network and Cyber Security. I love working on websites and doing research which brings me here. I didn’t know much about fitness and everything involved in it to be fit. I soon realized that being in my 40’s and staying in shape is going to take a lot more work and support. That’s when I decided to build my website around my personal problem areas, with hopes that I will not only get rid of mine, but help others as well.

8 thoughts on “OPTIMUM NUTRITION GOLD 100% WHEY PROTEIN REVIEW

  • February 26, 2018 at 9:55 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Devara,
    I enjoyed reading about your protein supplement. Eating a high protein diet everyday is difficult to do. I like the sounds of this being an alternative. Should I only drink it when I plan to workout? Would it still benefit me to drink it when I start my day even though I don’t plan to exercise that day?
    Thanks,
    Dennis

    Reply
    • February 26, 2018 at 10:12 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Dennis,
      This is a very good question. While drinking this extra protein may have its benefits with exercise, it can have its consequences when not exercising. Normally when a person is not active they use up less protein therefore extra protein is not necessary. This Whey protein shake has about 120 calories per serving without any extra fruit. A banana or milk would increase the calories to about 300! Over time, those calories could add up to weight gain from fat rather than from muscle. If you plan to drink Whey protein in place of a meal, then I would say that you may benefit from it because the extra protein would satisfy your hunger for much longer, causing you to be less snacky before meals.
      I hope this answers your question. I’d be glad to help in any way I can.
      Thanks,
      Devara

      Reply
  • March 1, 2018 at 3:55 am
    Permalink

    Hello,
    in the past I’ve found some protein powders to taste kind of strange but I really like the idea of adding it to other foods. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
  • March 1, 2018 at 9:30 am
    Permalink

    Hello Lynne,
    Thanks for visiting my sight. I personally have not tried whey protein mixed in food yet, but people are saying that it really hides the texture and the taste from what I’ve read. I will have to try it as well.
    Take care,
    Devara

    Reply
  • March 1, 2018 at 9:33 am
    Permalink

    Hey Devara,
    great review! I remember my hard journey through the protein world when I wanted to prepare my body for summer in 2014. I tried protein from all kind of companies out there. From MyProtein to AllStars and even to no name brands. Some were good, but some had either a bad taste, were clumpy or didn’t provide me with results that I needed. I think in 2015 I came across Optimum Nutrition. At the beginning I was very sceptical because of the price. I usually bought much cheaper protein. But because everybody was giving good feedback, I gave it a try. And it is true what everybody is saying. Behalf the price it is first of all not clumpy, has a very intense taste and your muscles grow! Until today it is my favorite protein. I really can confirm the hype about this product. Try it yourself.

    Thank you for this well written review Devara.

    All the Best

    Reply
    • March 1, 2018 at 11:12 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Sergej,
      Thanks for the great response! I’m so glad you are actually a proud customer of this product. The warm months are heading our way quickly and vacation time will begin. I need to work on my figure some before shorts and bikini season start. I intend on purchasing this product soon. There are so many flavors to chose from that make it hard to decide on. I’m also curious about trying it mixed in food. Did you click on the link in my post showing other ways to take in the protein? I want to try it in pudding! I think it will be very good.
      Thanks and best of luck,
      Devara

      Reply
  • March 2, 2018 at 7:31 am
    Permalink

    Hello , great article very informative..
    I am like most, seasonal when it comes to working out and trying to get into better shape. My question is what kind of shelf life does whey protein have? Would it be good for my January-April workouts then the next January-April for anything leftover. Lol!!? .

    Reply
  • March 2, 2018 at 10:27 am
    Permalink

    Hi John,
    Whey protein will last several months after the “use by” date if its kept in a cool dry place and the lid is sealed tightly. It won’t go bad for at least a year, but not recommended because some of nutrients will break down over a period of time. That means it will lose value and won’t be as effective. In your case, I recommend that you buy the 2 pound size instead of the 5 pound.
    Let me know if you need more information. Thanks for stopping by.
    Best of luck,
    Devara

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Main Menu

Muffin Top Belly Fix

Products